Being a makeup lover and having oily skin can be extremely irritating. While there are makeup products fitting for all skin types; those of us with oily skin certainly have more of a struggle.

My major makeup woe is applying a full face with the hope of remaining matte and an hour later I’m shiny all over. I’m sure anyone with oily skin understands exactly what I’m saying.

Although I have not found a way to remain completely matte for long periods of time utilizing most products, I have found foundations that certainly give me more hours without the oils.


Kat Von D Lock-It Foundation: This foundation is absolutely NO JOKE.

When they said “Lock-It” they meant it.

This foundation DOES NOT budge and I had 10 hours of matte face slayage! That is absolutely unreal. It is certainly full coverage and comes in quite a few chocolate girl friendly shades. The typical drawbacks with this foundation are that it is extremely thick and it dries quickly. This is the cake of all cakes but I can assure you that your face will be matte. For less of a cake face I certainly suggest ONE pump and a buffing brush to blend it very quickly.




NARS Velvet Matte Skin Tint: Full coverage BB cream realness AND it has SPF. This is a foundation.

I don’t care what anyone has told you but this is the epitome of a summer foundation.

This product is thin, light and blendable with excellent coverage. If you’re a full coverage girl and you would love something light on the skin, this is certainly the plug. In the more hot, humid environments it is certainly nice to wear a breathable foundation.



Estée Lauder Double Wear: Another foundation for those of us who don’t mind a little cake, this foundation comes in one of the widest range of colors but that is to be expected considering that Estée Lauder is undeniably a veteran brand in the world of cosmetics. This foundation is full coverage and tends to dry quickly but it has a beautiful matte finish that holds its own for an entire work day.

That’s a flex.

This foundation is another one that I would suggest blending out with a dense face brush and working rather quickly.




Lancôme Teint Idol Ultra 24H: This is a newer discovery of mine and Lancôme just refuses to disappoint. The beauty in this foundation is that it is offers medium to full coverage and a natural skin like finish. It is oil-free and offers a velvety-matte finish much like the NARS Matte Sheer Tint.

The finish… I’m speechless

This foundation also comes in a very very wide range of shades for chocolate girls and they are all so beautiful.

Those are my top 4 foundations for oily skin. These are not the only foundations that work but they are my personal favorites and my go-To products when I need my face mattified for an extended period of time. They are all higher end foundations but they are worth every single brown penny, I can promise you that.

To stay up to date with my posts and for EXCLUSIVE tips and tricks, click here. 

4 thoughts on “Top 4 Mattifying Foundations for Oily Skin

Leave a comment